Contact Details for Header

Italian for Travellers
Daytime Classes Commence Friday 09 October
Encolments Close Wednesday 30 September
Click here for further information

Word of the Day

Subscribe to Word of the Day feed
Transparent Language
Updated: 10 hours 22 min ago

distrattamente: absent-mindedly

Wed, 23/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: adverb Example sentence:Non guidare distrattamente, è pericoloso! Sentence meaning: Do not drive absent-mindedly; it is dangerous!

ammalarsi: to become sick

Tue, 22/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Le bimbe si sono ammalate il primo giorno di vacanza. Sentence meaning: The girls became sick the first day of vacation.

ambientale: environmental

Mon, 21/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: adjective Example sentence:L'inquinamento ambientale è un problema mondiale. Sentence meaning: Environmental pollution is a world problem.

tenere: to hold

Sun, 20/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Se lo tieni così stretto, l'uovo si rompe. Sentence meaning: If you hold it too tightly, the egg will break.

significare: to mean

Sat, 19/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Cosa significa la parola 'impasse'? Sentence meaning: What does the word 'impasse' mean?

La sede: headquarters

Fri, 18/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: noun Example sentence:La sede del partito è in Piazza Italia. Sentence meaning: The party headquarters are in Italia Square.

colpire: to hit

Thu, 17/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Il sasso ha colpito Giovanni in testa. Sentence meaning: The stone hit Giovanni in the head.

spiegare: to explain

Wed, 16/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Ora le spiego come funziona l'ADSL. Sentence meaning: Now I'll explain to you how the ADSL works.

Il ginocchio: knee

Tue, 15/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: noun Example sentence:In questo esercizio dovete piegare bene le ginocchia. Sentence meaning: In this exercise you must really bend your knees.

cieco: blind

Mon, 14/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: adjective Example sentence:Mio fratello non può guidare perché è quasi cieco. Sentence meaning: My brother can't drive because he's almost blind.

La macchia: stain

Sun, 13/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: noun Example sentence:Le macchie di vino sono difficili da togliere. Sentence meaning: Wine stains are hard to remove.

leggero: light

Sat, 12/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: adjective Example sentence:La custodia in tessuto leggero protegge il gioiello dalla polvere. Sentence meaning: The light cloth casing protects the jewel from dust.

camminare: to walk

Fri, 11/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Se camminate più veloci arriviamo al rifugio per pranzo. Sentence meaning: If you walk faster, we'll reach the cabin by lunchtime.

qualche: some

Thu, 10/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: adjective Example sentence:Con le melanzane potete cucinare anche qualche peperone. Sentence meaning: With the eggplant you can also cook some peppers.

prestare: to lend

Wed, 09/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Ho prestato il libro di cucina giapponese a Nicoletta. Sentence meaning: I lent the Japanese cookbook to Nicoletta.

L'età: age

Tue, 08/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: noun Example sentence:Si ottiene il diritto di voto al raggiungimento della maggiore età. Sentence meaning: The right to vote is granted upon reaching the legal age.

regalare: to present

Mon, 07/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Il giorno del pensionamento, i colleghi le regaleranno una collana. Sentence meaning: On the day of her retirement, her co-workers will present her with a necklace.

L'uovo: egg

Sun, 06/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: noun Example sentence:La dieta permette di mangiare non più di 3 uova alla settimana. Sentence meaning: This diet allows you to eat no more than 3 eggs per week.

saltare: to jump

Sat, 05/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Per toccare il soffitto con il dito dovete saltare molto in alto. Sentence meaning: To touch the ceiling with your finger you have to jump very high.

chiedere: to ask

Fri, 04/09/2020 - 10:00
Part of speech: verb Example sentence:Chiederò ulteriori dettagli quando mi consegneranno il pacco. Sentence meaning: I will ask for further details when they deliver the parcel.

Pages